Who appoints Protem Speaker in India?

Who appoints Protem Speaker in India?

Who appoints Protem Speaker in India?

As per the second proviso to article 94 of the Constitution, the office of the Speaker becomes vacant immediately before the first meeting of the new Lok Sabha. In that case, the duties of the Speaker are to be performed by a Member of the House appointed for this purpose by the President as Speaker pro tem.

Who appoints the Speaker?

After a general election and formation of a new government, a list of senior Lok Sabha members prepared by the Legislative Section is submitted to the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, who selects a pro tem speaker. The appointment has to be approved by the President.

Who was the Protem Speaker of the 16th Lok Sabha?

The pro-tem Speaker Kamal Nath was administered oath on 4 June 2014 & presided over the election of the Speaker of the Lok Sabha. Sumitra Mahajan was elected as its Speaker on 6 June 2014 and would remain in office until the day before the first sitting of the 17th Lok Sabha.

Who administers the oath of Speaker of Lok Sabha?

Oath-taking ceremony of the newly elected Members of Parliament continued the second day of the 17th Lok Sabha. Members from various parties took oath on Tuesday, administered by the Protem Speaker Virendra Kumar.

How does speaker get elected?

The Speaker is elected at the beginning of a new Congress by a majority of the Representatives-elect from candidates separately chosen by the majority- and minority-party caucuses. These candidates are elected by their party members at the organizing caucuses held soon after the new Congress is elected.

Who appoints Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha?

Deputy Speaker of the Lok Sabha
Style The Honourable
Appointer Members of the Lok Sabha
Term length During the life of the Lok Sabha (five years maximum)
Inaugural holder M. A. Ayyangar (1952–1956)

Who is the first woman speaker of Lok Sabha in India?

Meira Kumar
Born 31 March 1945 Patna, Bihar, British India (present day Patna, Bihar, India)
Political party Indian National Congress
Other political affiliations United Progressive Alliance
Spouse(s) Manjul Kumar

Who appoints the Chairman of Rajya Sabha?

The Vice President of India is the ex-officio Chairman of Rajya Sabha. The House also elects a Deputy Chairman from among its members. Besides, there is also a panel of “Vice Chairmen” in the Rajya Sabha.

How is the speaker chosen in parliament?

The speaker-elect must receive approbation by the sovereign before they may take office. On the day of the election, the speaker-elect leads the Commons to the Chamber of the House of Lords, where Lords Commissioners appointed by the Crown confirm him or her in the monarch’s name.

Who appoints the deputy speaker?

Who is the Protem Speaker of 16th Lok Sabha?

Who appoints the members of Lok Sabha?

Members of the Lok Sabha are directly elected by the people of India, on the basis of universal suffrage.