What is IGAD region?

What is IGAD region?

What is IGAD region?

The Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) is an eight-country trade bloc in Africa. It includes governments from the Horn of Africa, Nile Valley and the African Great Lakes. It is headquartered in Djibouti City.

What are IGAD countries?

The IGAD region stretches over an area of 5.2 million km2 that comprises the countries of Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan and Uganda.

How many countries are there in IGAD?

The “Intergovernmental Authority on Developmentā€ (IGAD) is a body currently comprising seven countries in the Horn of Africa. The regional organisation based in Djibouti supports its member states in their manifold development efforts, especially in the areas of peace processes and food security.

What is the difference between IGAD and Igadd?

The Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) in Eastern Africa was created in 1996 to supersede the Intergovernmental Authority on Drought and Development (IGADD) which was founded in 1986.

What is the main function of IGAD?

The Mission of IGAD is to assist and complement the efforts of the Member States through increased cooperation to achieve: Food security and environmental protection; Promotion and maintenance of peace and security and humanitarian affairs; and. Economic cooperation and integration.

What is the aim of IGAD?

The mission of IGAD is to assist and complement the efforts of the member States to achieve, through increased cooperation: food security and environmental protection, peace and security, and economic cooperation and integration in the region.

Is South Sudan a member of IGAD?

The Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) has suspended the membership of South Sudan after the African country failed to pay its annual contributions fee.

Is IGAD an international organization?

As an international organization, IGAD has made functional and institutional progress.

Why was IGAD formed?

IGAD is the Intergovernmental Authority on Development. This organization was actually founded in 1996 in the Eastern portion of Africa. The organization’s main goal is to help with problems in the community of drought and development.

Who is the head of IGAD?

Dr Workneh Gebeyehu
The Executive Secretary of the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) Dr Workneh Gebeyehu this evening welcomed the signing of an agreement between South Sudan parties to the R-ARCSS with armed forces to unifying their forces.

What is the practice of IGAD?

The Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) was established in 1986 to respond to drought, desertification, famine and related disasters by coordinating regional cooperation among Member States and partners.

What is the main objective of IGAD?