What are the 54 countries in Africa and their capital?

What are the 54 countries in Africa and their capital?

What are the 54 countries in Africa and their capital?

Africa has 54 independent nations but more than 54 capitals….Zimbabwe – Harare.

Country Capital
Algeria Algiers
Angola Luanda
Benin Porto Novo
Botswana Gaborone

What are the capital cities in Africa?

Capital Cities of African Nations
Abuja Abuja Map Nigeria
Accra Accra Map Ghana
Addis Ababa (Addis Abeba) Addis Ababa Map Ethiopia
Algiers (Alger, El Djazâir, Al Jaza’ir) Algiers Map Algeria

Who draw the map of Africa?

John Rapkin
The maps were drawn and engraved by John Rapkin, and the vignettes were created and engraved by various prominent artist-illustrators. About the continent of Africa, Martin writes in a note accompanying the map in the atlas: More than five-sixths of the region are still unknown to European geographers. . . .

How many countries in Africa and list them?

48 countries share the area of mainland Africa, plus six island nations are considered to be part of the continent. All in all, there are 54 sovereign African countries and two disputed areas, namely Somaliland (autonomous region of Somalia) and Western Sahara (occupied by Morocco and claimed by the Polisario).

What country is in 2021?

Parts of Kiribati, including the Line Islands and Kiritimati, ring in the New Year first. They see in the New Year while Brits are still sipping their morning coffee at 10am GMT on December 31. At 11am GMT the tiny Pacific island of Tonga head into a fresh year along with New Zealand and Samoa.

Why is Africa’s map always changing?

The world map you are probably familiar with is called the Mercator projection (below), which was developed all the way back in 1569 and greatly distorts the relative areas of land masses. It makes Africa look tiny, and Greenland and Russia appear huge.

How many states is in Africa?

54 sovereign states
There are 54 sovereign states (or countries) in Africa – see the list below the map.

What is the only country that is not a member of the African Union?

Morocco withdrew from the OAU in 1985, after admission of Western Sahara. It is now the only African state that does not belong to the AU.