What are the 5 holidays in Canada?

What are the 5 holidays in Canada?

What are the 5 holidays in Canada?

Generally speaking, the common statutory holidays are New Year’s Day, Good Friday (Easter), Canada Day, Labour Day and Christmas Day.

How many Canadian holidays are there?

Canada Public & National Holidays (2022) There are a total of 5 nationwide holidays and 6 additional holidays for federal employees in Canada. Public and private employers have the liberty to add more days of at the end of December for Christmas and New Year.

What holidays are in each month?

Holidays Calendar

date holiday or event
March 17 St. Patrick’s Day
March 20, 21 or 22 Norooz
March/April (15th day of Hebrew month Nisan) Passover
Late March or early April Good Friday, Easter

What holiday is in June in Canada?

Statutory Holidays in Canada

Holiday Day Observed Observance
National Aboriginal Day June 21 NT
Féte Nationale St. Jean Baptiste Day June 24 QC
Discovery Day June 24 NL
Canada Day Memorial Day in NFL July 1 Nationwide

What is Santa called in Canada?

American-English: Kris Kringle. In the US and Canada, some people call him Kris Kringle, which originates from the German word Christkind (Christ child). Here, it’s custom to leave milk and cookies to keep him going.

Is Christmas Eve 2021 a federal holiday?

No, Christmas Eve is generally not a federal holiday.

What are the 10 federal holidays in 2020?

Key takeaway

  • New Year’s Day (January 1)
  • Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. (Third Monday in January)
  • Washington’s Birthday (Third Monday in February)
  • Memorial Day (Last Monday in May)
  • Independence Day (July 4)
  • Labor Day (First Monday in September)
  • Columbus Day (Second Monday in October)
  • Veterans Day (November 11)